Dental Alerts

Stay on your Toes with Alerts

Toes on High Alert

The Colorado Office of Policy, Research, and Regulatory Reform is currently conducting a sunset review of the Dental Board. Analysis is performed to determine if the board is necessary and should be continued, modified, or repealed. To provide input on this review, visit this website:

Comment on a Sunrise or Sunset Review

The Colorado Office of Policy, Research & Regulatory Reform (COPRRR) is charged with determining if an agency's statute and rules adequately protect the public without imposing undue burdens on the regulated community. Sunset reviews also examine an agency's efficiency, effectiveness and accountability. COPRRR will make recommendations in these and other areas to the General Assembly. Your information will help us identify problems and solutions related to agencies under review.

COPRRR is also charged with performing sunrise reviews which analyze whether there is a need for state regulation of currently unregulated occupations or professions. The sunrise reviews which are currently being conducted are listed on this page.

Please be aware that COPRRR cannot intervene in individual cases or arbitrate disputes with an agency.




●     You will need to reactivate or to reinstate your license by February 29, 2024. The CSDS offers low-cost CE to help you earn hours. See the calendar of events for upcoming CE. The summarized information below is from

●     Every dentist must complete at least 30 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years.

●      CE hours may be applied only to the license period in which they were completed.

●     If a license is issued within one (1) year of the renewal date, no continuing education will be required for that first license period. If a license is issued outside of one (1) year of the renewal date, then 15 hours of Board-approved continuing education will be required for that first license period.

●     At least 16 of the required 30 CE hours must be clinical or science-based, or eight (8) of the required 15 if licensed outside of one (1) year of the license date.

●     Current Basic Life Support (BLS) for healthcare providers is required of all licensees and all licensees will receive a maximum of 2 hours continuing education credit (not to be applied towards the renewal of an anesthesia permit) for successful completion.

●     Substance Use Prevention Training
Every dentist and academic dentist, regardless of the date of licensure, is required to complete at least one (1) hour of training per license period in order to demonstrate competency pertaining to:

●     best practices for opioid prescribing

●     recognition of substance use disorders

●     referral of patients with substance use disorders for treatment

●     use of the electronic prescription drug monitoring program

Substance Use Prevention Training includes but is not limited to: relevant continuing education courses; self-study of relevant scholarly articles or relevant policies/guidelines; peer review proceedings that involve opioid prescribing;
attendance at a relevant conference (or portion of a conference); teaching a relevant class/course; or participation in a relevant presentation.

●     The Medication Access and Training Expansion (MATE Act) is required for new and renewing DEA licensures. The ADA offers a free-to-members online course at

●      CE course or program recognized by these organizations (or a successor organization) are accepted:

●     American Dental Association (ADA) Continuing Education Recognition Program (CERP),

●     Academy of General Dentistry (AGD) Program Approval for Continuing Education (PACE),

●     American Medical Association (AMA) Physician Recognition Award (PRA) and credit system as Category 1 Credit, or

●     Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) accredited institutions.

Additional alerts are posted at: and at